Ethan Miller, Getty ImagesThe University of Wyoming men’s basketball team has been picked to finish sixth in the Mountain West, as the conference announced its 2012-13 preseason media poll and all-conference team today. The Cowboys garnered 70 points from the media covering the MW.

“We’ve got a great deal of confidence in our guys focusing on today,” UW head coach Larry Shyatt said. “Not what happened in the past and not what people are predicting in the future. The focal point will be on how successful we can be as a team and that will be determined at some point down the road. I’m confident our team’s focal point will be today, each and every day.”
Defending Mountain West co-regular-season champion San Diego State edged UNLV as the preseason favorite to win the regular-season title in 2012-13. The Aztecs received 10 of 18 first-place votes and 153 points to garner the top spot in the poll. The Runnin’ Rebels claimed the remaining eight first-place votes and 151 points for second place. New Mexico, last season’s MW tournament champion, garnered 122 points to finish third, followed by Colorado State, who collected 106 points for fourth place. Mountain West newcomer Nevada earned 89 points to finish fifth, followed by the Cowboys in sixth, MW newcomer Fresno State (49 points) in seventh, Boise State (43 points) in eighth and Air Force (27 points) in ninth to round out the poll.
SDSU’s Jamaal Franklin was picked to repeat as MW Player of the year, while fellow Aztec Dwayne Polee II and UNLV’s Bryce Dejean-Jones shared Preseason Newcomer of the Year accolades. UNLV’s Anthony Bennett was tabbed Preseason Freshman of the Year. Franklin is joined by Nevada’s Deonte Burton, New Mexico’s Kendall Williams, SDSU’s Chase Tapley and UNLV’s Mike Moser on the preseason All-MW team.
The Cowboys will play two exhibition games, including one against Fort Lewis on Oct. 31 in Ethete, Wyo., before opening the regular season against Western State on Nov. 10 in the Arena-Auditorium. Fans can purchase season tickets by calling the Wyoming Athletics Ticket Office at 877-WYO-FAN1 (877-996-3261) or going online at
Rk.      Team (First-Place Votes)   Pts.
     1.    San Diego State (10)             153
     2.    UNLV (8)                                 151
     3.    New Mexico                            122
     4.    Colorado State                        106
     5.    Nevada                                      89
     6.    Wyoming                                   70
     7.    Fresno State                              49
     8.    Boise State                                 43
     9.    Air Force                                    27
Preseason All-Mountain West
Deonte Burton, Jr., G, Nevada
Kendall Williams, Jr., G, New Mexico
Jamaal Franklin, Jr., G, San Diego State
Chase Tapley, Sr., G, San Diego State
Mike Moser, Jr., F, UNLV
Preseason Player of the Year
Jamaal Franklin, Jr., G, San Diego State
Preseason Co-Newcomers of the Year
Dwayne Polee II, So., F, San Diego State
Bryce Dejean-Jones, So., G, UNLV
Preseason Freshman of the Year
Anthony Bennett, F, UNLV