Cowgirl junior Kayla Woodward was named the 2013-2014 Mountain West Conference preseason Player of the Year.

Woodward is a 5’11 forward from Sheridan.  She was name to the 2013 Mountain West Conference All-Tournament team in Las Vegas.  She was also a second-team All Mountain West selection last year.

In 2012-2013 she averaged 14.1 points per game.

“Definitely surprised with our preseason selection,” said head coach Joe Legerski. “I’m excited about the year but understand that this is a team that will develop over time. We lost three starters that accumulated approximately half of our points and rebounds, so someone will have to step up to fill major roles to meet our team expectations. “Kayla has had an impact on this program over the past two seasons. She is very deserving for both honors being named Preseason Player of the Year and to the Preseason All-Conference Team.”

Woodward is joined on the preseason team by Fresno State senior Taylor Thompson, San Diego State junior Erimma Amarikwa, Colorado State senior Sam Martin, and San Jose State junior Ta’Rea Cunnigan.

The Cowgirls will host the Chadron State Eagles, on Friday, Nov. 1, to open up the exhibition season in the Arena Auditorium. They will begin the regular season on Friday, Nov. 8, as they will play Montana State Northern in Sheridan, Wyo. Both game times are set for 7:00 p.m.



Rk.  Team (1st-place votes)                Points                                    

1.     Fresno State (17)                           238

2.     Wyoming (4)                                  212

3.     San Diego State (2)                       196

4.     New Mexico                                   185

5.     UNLV (2)                                         170

6.     Utah State                                       136

7.     Colorado State                             130

8.     Boise State                                     96

9.     San José State                               76

10.   Nevada                                           62

11.   Air Force                                        28


Note: Coaches do not vote for their own teams.



Name, Class, Position                          Institution

Sam Martin Sr. F                                    Colorado State

Taylor Thompson Sr. G                       Fresno State

Erimma Amarikwa Jr. F                         San Diego State

Ta‘Rea Cunnigan Jr. G                         San José State

Kayla Woodward Jr. F                          Wyoming


Preseason Player of the Year: Kayla Woodward, Jr., F, Wyoming

Preseason Freshman of the Year: Chloe Johnson, G, San Diego State

Preseason Newcomer of the Year: Cierra Warren, C, Sr., San Diego State