Senior Center Nick Carlson and Senior Defensive Tackle Mike Purcell earned First-Team All-Conference recognition Tuesday, as the Mountain West announced its all-conference teams and individual awards for the 2012 season. A total of seven Wyoming Cowboys earned accolades for their performance on the gridiron this past season.

Carlson is the first UW offensive lineman to earn first-team honors since Chase Johnson in 2006. He was a second-team selection last year and honorable mention all-conference in 2010. Carlson played in 46 games during his career for the Pokes. He started 45 games, including 37 straight. He was on the Rimington Trophy Watch List for 2011 and 2012, which is awarded to the nation's top center, and was also on the 2012 Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List, honoring the nation’s top FBS lineman. Carlson was one of four team captains this past season.

Purcell led all defensive lineman in the Mountain West in tackles this season with 83, which tied for 14th in the conference. He averaged 6.9 tackles per game and finished with 8.5 tackles for loss, which included 1.5 sacks. Purcell also forced two fumbles, recovered one, blocked a kick, had a pass break-up and a pass defended. He made a career-high 16 tackles against Cal Poly.

Wyoming's lone second-team All-conference selection was Senior WR Chris McNeill, who is a second-team honoree for a second consecutive season. He led the Cowboys in receptions (63), receiving yards (722) and receiving yards per game (65.6). McNeill was second in the MW in receptions per game and fourth in receiving yards per game. H also caught five touchdown passes during the 2012 season and threw one to teammate Riley Lange against Toledo.

The Cowboys had four players earn honorable mention All-MW in 2012. They were Sophomore QB Brett Smith, Junior WR Robert Herron, Senior LB Ghaali Muhammad and Freshmen P Tim Gleason.