It might be a different year, but it’s the same scenario for the Laramie Plainsmen Friday. They need a win to qualify for the 4-A playoffs.

For a third consecutive season, Laramie hopes of making the post-season have come down to their game against the Kelly Walsh Trojans. The good news for the Plainsmen is they have won the previous two.

Laramie (2-6) is coming off two losses, while Kelly Walsh (3-5) has won two straight and already locked up a playoff spot.

Plainsmen head coach Chuck Syverson visited with KOWB’s David Settle about the regular season finale. Syverson discussed the pressure-packed scenario they’re in; the final game at Deti Stadium; the fact it’s the same situation against Kelly Walsh; and the match-up on the field.

The Trojans come in with a statistical edge in the three main offensive categories, plus two of three on defense. Another key factor is turnover margin, where Laramie has struggled at minus-11, while Kelly Walsh is plus-six.

Each team has benefitted from quality play at the quarterback position.

Taylor Dodd became the single-season Plainsmen record holder for passing yards last week. He remains second in class 4-A in all-purpose offense at 230.4 yards per game.

Jacob Kostal has spear-headed the Trojans turnaround. The senior started the year at running back, but took over for an injured Lamont Frisby against Natrona County. He’s seventh in 4-A in all-purpose yards at 192.1 per game.

Friday also marks the final game for the Laramie Plainsmen at the present Deti Stadium. In its’ 54th season in use, Laramie has won over 61 percent of their games here. It was nearly 74 percent during the Deti era.

The Plainsmen will pay tribute to the Deti legacy in a few ways, including going without helmet stickers, which was part of the Deti tradition.

The final piece to Friday’s game is Senior Night for Laramie. Twelve seniors will be honored prior to the game. They are John Gallegos, David Corliss, Kade Russow, Will Atencio, Josh Atkinson, Tristan Rogers, Brennon Bressler, Noah Hammontree, Garrett Webb, Corey Henschel, Adam Sorenson and Harrison Yates.

Kick-off is at 7 p.m.

KOWB (AM 1290) will broadcast the game. David Settle and VerDon Hoopes will call the action. Coverage begins at 5:30 p.m.