The University of Wyoming Board of Trustees elected attorney John MacPherson of Saratoga as the new board president during a Friday meeting.

MacPherson has served as vice president for the past two years and will succeed Dave Palmerlee of Buffalo. Gov. Matt Mead appointed Macpherson to the UW Board of Trustees in 2011, and MacPherson served as the board's secretary from 2012-2014.

The board also elected Dave True of Casper as vice president, Jeff Marsh of Torrington as secretary, and John McKinley of Cheyenne as treasurer.

The board also adopted a budget of $229,000 for trustees' meeting expenses in fiscal year 2016-2017, a reduction of $73,000 from this year's projected expenses. The cuts will come largely through less use of UW and state aircraft for transportation to and from meetings as well as fewer buffet-style meals served by UW Catering and Events at the board's multi-day meetings.