The Indiana State Sycamores came to Laramie Saturday to play the University of Wyoming as part of the second annual Mountain West-Missouri Valley Basketball Challenge. Five Cowboys scored in double digits in Wyoming’s 81-51 win over Indiana State. The Cowboys forced 22 turnovers and scored 32 points off of them while only turning the ball over 8 times themselves.

The Cowboys fell behind 12-7 early in the game before buckling down defensively in their zone and holding the Sycamores scoreless for a three minute stretch and retaking the lead 13-12. Indiana State took the lead back when junior guard Dwayne Lathan hit a 3-pointer. It was then the Cowboys took control and went on an 18-2 run. Wyoming took a 40-28 lead into the half.

“Guys started talking and playing together and that’s Wyoming basketball.” -Afam Muojeke

The second half saw the Cowboys build on their lead. That lead would increase all the way to the final minute when Joe Hudson made a deep 3 pointer to give the Cowboys their biggest advantage of the night, 30 points. The advantage held and Wyoming won 81-51. Both Wyoming point guards had big nights. Sophomore Desmar Jackson tallied 17 points, 2 assists and 5 steals while junior JayDee Luster recorded 15 points, 3 assists and 2 steals. It wasn’t a bad night for the big guys either. Sophomore forward Amath M’Baye had 12 points, 4 rebounds and 2 steals; senior forward Djibril Thiam added 10 points and 5 rebounds; junior Afam Muojeke also added 10 points.

“I thought our guys came out and played really inspired which is something that we were looking for tonight and it was a good win for us.” -Coach Heath Schroyer

Indiana State’s Lathan led all scorers with 18 points and 5 rebounds. Senior guard Jake Kelly had 15 points and 5 rebounds. The Sycamore’s won the battle of the boards, out-rebounding Wyoming 40-30.

Wyoming’s record is 3-5. The Cowboys will have a week of practice before heading back out on the road to play UC-Irvine on Friday, December 10 at 8:00 p.m.  The game will air on Y95 with coverage starting at 7:30 p.m.