With caucuses happening across the country and delegates being selected for presidential nominations, an explanation of the process in Wyoming is needed. The secretary for the state Republican party, Charles Curley, took the time to describe the caucus and delegate selection process for the Wyoming Republican Party for this election cycle.

"A delegate is entitled to vote and otherwise participate in the convention. If the delegate cannot do so, an alternate steps in. The Republican National Committee  sets the size of each delegation, using a formula that rewards state parties for electing Republicans. In 2016, Wyoming is entitled to 29 delegates and 26 alternates.

The delegate selection process is not the same in all states but there are some similarities. In all states, three delegates are automatic, the state party Chairman, the Republican National Committeewoman, and the Republican National Committeeman. They do not get any alternates.

County conventions, which will be held in all Wyoming counties on March 12th this year, select another 12 delegates and their 12 alternates. In most cases, a county convention will elect either a delegate or an alternate to the Republican National Convention. For this purpose, the state’s 23 counties are divided into twelve delegate districts (with the county electing the delegate in italics): (1) Natrona-Albany; (2) Carbon-Sweetwater; (3) Lincoln-Uinta; (4) Teton-Sublette; (5) Park-Fremont; (6) Hot Springs-Washakie; (7) Sheridan-Big Horn; (8) Campbell-Johnson; (9) Crook-Weston; (10) Converse-Niobrara; (11) Platte-Goshen; and (12) Laramie. Laramie County, being its own district, elects one of each.

The remaining delegates and alternates, if any, are selected at the state convention. Wyoming is entitle to 29 delegates. We have accounted for 15 of those, leaving 14 to elect at the state convention. The state convention will also elect 14 alternates. The Republican State convention this year will be held in Casper April 14th-16th.

Delegates and alternates are elected from one big slate, so those voting at the convention get to vote for up to 28 people. The top 14 are the delegates. The bottom 14 are the alternates. These are promoted to delegates in the order of their vote count.

Delegates to the state convention are elected by the county conventions.

Delegates to the county convention are elected by precinct caucuses in their respective counties.

Any person registered to vote Republican as of the call for precinct caucuses in a given precinct may vote in that precinct’s caucus."

For more information, contact your county party or wyoming.gop.

More From Y95 Country